Webelos I

For boys in 4th grade or 10 years old

The Webelos program (I and II) is a two-year program which is different from the Cub Scout den program. Everything in the Webelos Scout program is more challenging than what younger boys in the pack do. Webelos Scouts get to work on the 20 Webelos activity badges, which are worn on the distinctive “Webelos Colors”:

Physical Skills
  • Aquanaut
  • Athlete
  • Fitness
  • Sportsman
Mental Skills
  • Artist
  • Scholar
  • Showman
  • Traveler
  • Citizen
  • Communicator
  • Family Member
  • Readyman
  • Craftsman
  • Engineer
  • Handyman
  • Scientist
Outdoor Activity
  • Forester
  • Geologist
  • Naturalist
  • Outdoorsman

Webelos Scouts work on requirements during their weekly den meetings. Once a boy learns a skill, he practices it at den meetings and at home on his own. His family helps him at home. A Webelos Scout bring the projects they do at home to the den meetings to show others and to have the Webelos den leader approve his project.

When a Webelos Scout has completed the requirements for an activity badge, the Webelos den leader, rather than a parent, approves most of the activity badges. It takes three activity badges, including Fitness and Citizen, to earn the Webelos badge.

Besides earning activity badges, Webelos Scouts can earn the compass points emblem. This emblem is awarded after a Webelos Scout has earned seven activity badges. For each four activity badges a Webelos Scout earns after that, he receives a compass point—east, west, north, and south.